9 amazing youth bags prestigious National Youth Icon Award 2019.

New Delhi, 8th Nov.: Results for the winners of prestigious “National Youth Icon Award 2019” announced today by International Youth Committee (IYC). A total of 9 amazing youths from various states of India will receive this highest youth award on 21st February 2019.

The winners of this year are:

  1. Ms. Laxmi Agarwal, Campaigner, Stop Acid Attacks
  2. Mr. Ravi Gyanprakash Choudhary, Founder, Prayas Youth Foundation
  3. Mr. Desh Raj, Member, Youth for Social Justice
  4. Mr. Angrej Singh, Youth Activists, Punjab
  5. Mr. Haamid Ali Shah, MD, Pir Pinjal Youth Parliament, Jammu & Kashmir
  6. Mr. Suhail Kaushar, Founder, Save the Child Beggar
  7. Mr. Himadrish Suwan, Chairman, Confederation of Young Leaders
  8. Ms. Puja Sinha, Volunteer Coordinator, TeamVx
  9. Ms. Megha Bhatia, Founder, Our Voix

A total of 736 applications received this year from 29 states of India. After a thorough screening process by a high level juries and based on their merits of the social contributions, the final 9 awardee has been selected from the top 40 finalists from various states of India.

Young people constitute more than 75% of the population of the India; their empowerment is essential to the success of the India and its states. The IYC works with youth leaders, member governments and other stakeholders to engage and empower young people and enhance their contribution to development. The work of the IYC is anchored in the belief that empowered young people are assets to their societies. It is vital to ensure young people realize their individual potential, and to recognize and nurture their ability to contribute to their countries’ development, and the success of the country.

The National Youth Icon Awards for Excellence in Development Work aim to raise the profile of young people and highlight the contribution they are making towards developing a fairer, sustainable, peaceful, and prosperous future for the nation. This special edition of the awards ceremony usually coincide with the International Youth Empowerment Day celebration by International Youth Committee (IYC) preceding the IYC Day held in New Delhi, February 21st under the theme “Strong IYC; Better World” and will highlight the contribution that young people are making throughout the country, in areas such as poverty alleviation, conflict resolution and prevention, democracy and environmental preservation. The National Youth Icon Award give international, regional and national recognition and support to those young men and women who have demonstrated young peoples capacity and potential to make positive contributions to their communities, nations and the world at large. Young people are not passive beneficiaries of development and spectators to  programmes and of policies that affect their development, but rather are integrally involved in the process of change as they continue to work side by side with decision makers as key actors and stakeholders contributing to national development.

The young people who will receive this award should demonstrate measurable/tangible
impact through their development work.

The main Objectives of the National Youth Icon Awards are to:-
 Highlight the contribution young people are making to promote the common goal of
a future built on fairness, peace, prosperity and sustainability and achieve the
Sustainable Development Goals (SDG’s).
 Acknowledge the outstanding contributions made by young people to overall
development and democracy goals in the country;
 Create an environment which will encourage and sustain investments in youth led
 Illustrate the depth and breadth of talent, commitment and creativity that exists
among young people across the Country by highlighting nominees’ success

 Motivate, encourage and challenge young people (aged 16-29) to set high standards
for their work/service at community, national, regional or international levels;

Awards will be decided on the basis of:
1. Level of Impact;
2. Level of innovation/fresh approaches to problem solving;
3. Quality of achievement;
4. Quality of the evidence provided.
5. Sustainability

Congratulations to all the Winners!

Latest News

Comments are disabled.